Sunday 22 July 2007

Minister Gormley extends the social inclusion unit programme

Mr John Gormley T.D., Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, has announced the extension of the social inclusion unit programme to nine more local authorities.

The successful local authorities (see Appendix 1) were selected following an objective assessment process, which was overseen by an Inter-Departmental Steering Group.

"The main objective of these Units is to promote social inclusion in the day-to-day activities of the local authorities" - said Minister Gormley, "These units also promote inter-agency work on social inclusion with other relevant bodies at local level."

The announcement fulfils a commitment in the Partnership Agreement Towards 2016, ahead of target, to extend the social inclusion unit programme to half of all local authorities by the end of 2008. There are eight such units already in place and the latest announcement brings the total number of units to seventeen (see Appendix 2 for details of all units).

The Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government will provide 50% of the salary costs of each of the nine new units. The Department already provides similar such funding for the existing eight units.

"The establishment of these new social inclusion units, not only meets a commitment in Towards 2016, but also reflects an objective of the local government modernisation programme to broaden its involvement in social inclusion and community development" - added the Minister.

Appendix 1
Cavan, Donegal, Fingal, Galway City, Galway County, Meath, Monaghan, Roscommon and South Tipperary.

Appendix 2
Cavan, Cork City, Donegal, DĂșn Laoghaire Rathdown, Dublin City, Fingal, Galway City, Galway County, Limerick City, Louth, Meath, Monaghan, Roscommon, South Dublin, South Tipperary, Waterford City, Wicklow.

No comments: